Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Alabama

Contact a Birmingham DUI Lawyer Today

If you are involved in an auto accident, you are required to offer assistance to anyone injured, give the other party your name and address, and wait until law enforcement or medical care has arrived. If you decide not to stop and exchange information, you could find yourself charged with a misdemeanor or a felony if later pulled over, especially if you were also accused of DUI.

Your first step upon being charged should be to call on a Birmingham DUI attorney who can protect you from the penalties of a conviction.

What Are the Consequences for Leaving the Scene?

Whether leaving the scene is considered a felony or misdemeanor in Alabama depends on the details of the case. If only property damage is involved, a conviction would be a Class A misdemeanor. This would result in up to a year in jail and up to $6,000 in fines.

If a person was injured and you fled the scene, you could be charged with a Class C felony.

Punishment can include the following:

  • 1 to 10 years in jail
  • 2 to 20 years in jail with a prior felony conviction
  • Up to $15,000 in fines
  • Mandated driver's license revocation for up to 6 months

When facing such harsh penalties, you need to have an experienced Birmingham criminal defense lawyer by your side to represent you. Tidwell Law Group, LLC has handled many such cases and is committed to achieving the best possible outcomes for clients of the firm.

You Need a DUI Attorney in Birmingham to Defend You!

If you were charged with being under the influence and left the scene of an accident you could face multiple offenses including DUI, hit and run, bodily injury, and reckless driving. A seasoned attorney can argue on your behalf in court to have your charges reduced if there is any truth to the charges. Don't face the penalties of a DUI alone—the firm is here to protect you!


Call today or fill out a free case evaluation to start pursuing your defense.