In just one year, Alabama police officers arrested over 14,000 individuals
for drunk driving. Of those arrested, nearly 10,000 were convicted. Drunk
driving is without question one of the most penalized crimes in the state
and prosecutors are serious about deterring repeat offenders by way of
Not every DUI is punished the same way, however. Before sentencing a convicted
individual, the court takes various factors into account, such as the
defendant’s past criminal history and the circumstances of their
offense. If you’re facing DUI charges, the information below may
enlighten you about possible penalties if convicted.
DUI Penalties According to State Law
It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent
or higher. As a minor, anything at or above .02 percent is considered
illegal. You can incur penalties from both the Alabama courts and the
AL Department of Public Safety if you are convicted.
Depending on your circumstances, penalties may include time in jail, fines,
community service, and a suspended driver’s license. Even first
offenders can find themselves dealing with the consequences of their actions
many years later.
Penalties for a first offender may entail:
- Up to $2,100 in fines
- License suspension
- Mandatory interlock ignition device
- Community service
You cannot afford to go without a Birmingham DUI lawyer, regardless of
your situation. Many first-offenders believe that they can get away with
their offense because they don’t have a criminal record and fail
to secure legal representation. Unfortunately, this often ends poorly
and they are hit with harsh penalties.
Don’t let this happen to you! At Tidwell Law Group, LLC, we are passionate
about defending the rights of our clients. With over a decade of experience,
you can feel confident that we can fight for the best possible outcome
on your behalf.
Schedule a free, no-obligation consultation today to get started.