Get Started with Your Defense We are prepared to draw upon our vast experience to ensure you are protected--no matter the charge you're facing.

Alabama License Suspension for DUI

Understanding the Penalties for Drunken Driving

There are many penalties associated with DUI in Alabama that can be harsh or completely life-altering. For example, a DUI conviction may leave the defendant facing penalties such as imprisonment, steep fines, or extended periods of mandatory community service. While these penalties are not to be taken lightly, one of the most inconvenient and disruptive of DUI punishments is the suspension of the defendant's license.

In Alabama, a defendant can lose their right to drive after their very first DUI:

  • First DUI conviction can result in a 90-day license suspension
  • Second DUI conviction can result in a 1-year license revocation
  • Third DUI conviction within 5 years can result in a 3-year license revocation
  • Fourth or subsequent DUI conviction within 5 years can result in a 5-year license revocation

License Suspension vs. License Revocation

Although similar, it is actually different to have a suspended license and to have a revoked license. License suspension is more casual in nature and is usually short-term (ex: 90 days). On the other hand, a revoked license is more permanent and means that the Director of Public Safety has actually completely withdrawn your right to drive. After the revocation period ends, you will be required to apply for a new license.

What Do I Do if My Driver’s License Was Suspended?

If your driver’s license was suspended, the court might have taken away your physical card. However, if it did not, you must mail or hand in your driver’s license to the Alabama Motor Vehicle Division.

After your driver’s license is suspended, you are not permitted to operate a vehicle. If you are caught driving with a suspended driver’s license, you could be imprisoned.

Can I Appeal a Driver’s License Suspension?

If you received a notice of driver’s license suspension, you have 10 days from the mail date of the letter to request a hearing. During the hearing, you will have an opportunity to challenge the suspension and present reasons as to why your driver’s license should not be suspended.

How Do I Get My Driver’s License Reinstated?

Your driving privileges are not automatically reinstated after the withdrawal period has ended. You must apply for reinstatement with the Director of Public Safety. Before you can apply, you must ensure that you have completed all court-ordered requirements and paid all fines and legal fees.

How Much Does it Cost to Get My Driver’s License Reinstated?

To have your driver’s license reinstated, you must pay the required fees to the Director of Public Safety. It costs $275 to resinstate your license if it was suspended for a drug- or alcohol-related offense

DUI Defense Attorney in the Birmingham Area

With 15 years of legal experience, Birmingham DUI Attorney Jay Ephriam Tidwell has what it takes to help you protect your freedoms. If you would like to protect your rights and avoid serious penalties, such as the suspension or revocation of your license, contact the firm today!

Give us a call at (205) 800-8596 or submit our online contact form to request a case evaluation.

Why Choose Us?

  • 15 Years' Legal Experience

  • Committed to Excellence

  • Practice in All State District, Circuit & Federal Courts in Alabama

  • Full-Service Criminal Defense Attorney

Client Testimonials

  • I could not have asked for a better lawyer.

    “I could not have asked for a better lawyer.”

    Laura

  • Mr. Tidwell is the Best Attorney in Alabama.

    “Mr. Tidwell is the Best Attorney in Alabama.”

    Laura

  • Wonderful Lawyer

    “Wonderful Lawyer”

    Tonya

  • Great attorney!

    “Great attorney!”

    Rachel