Ignition Interlock Devices in AL
Let Our Birmingham DUI Defense Attorneys Help You Keep Your Driving Privileges
Getting convicted of a DUI in Alabama may result in serving several penalties, including driver’s license suspension. Without the ability to drive, you may experience difficulties consistently arriving to work or class on time, which can lead to employment and academic issues. However, it is possible to maintain your driving privileges with the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney
If your driver’s license was suspended following a DUI conviction, let Tidwell Law Group, LLC help you get back on the road as quickly as possible. With over 17 years of experience, our Birmingham DWI defense attorney can guide you through the complexities of the legal process to help you avoid having to serve your suspension.
Alabama Ignition Interlock Laws
As of July 2018, first-time DUI offenders who wish to continue driving after conviction must have ignition interlock devices (IID) installed in all vehicles they own and/or operate – or else face driver’s license suspension for 90 days. An IID requires drivers to provide a breath sample before the engine and while the car is in motion (but will not shut the vehicle off while in motion).
If a first-time DUI conviction involved a child passenger under 14 years old, another person’s injury, or having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .15 percent, then your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days and – after your license is reinstated – you will be required to have an IID installed in your vehicle for one year. A second DUI conviction within a 10-year period carries license suspension for one year (with a potential stay after 45 days with proof if IID installation) and mandatory IID installation for two years, while a third DUI conviction within a 10-year period carries license suspension for three years (with a potential stay after 60 days with proof if IID installation) and mandatory IID installation for three years.
After conviction, a judge will sign and forward an order to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) – whether installation of an IID is mandatory or voluntary. When you install an approved IID in your vehicle and provide proof of installation to the ALEA, the agency will issue a restricted driver’s license, which is $150.
The following are common violations of IID law:
- Having a breath sample at or above the minimum BAC of .02 percent recorded four or more times in one month (unless a follow-up test performed within 10 minutes registers a BAC of lower than .02 percent)
- Failing to fulfill calibration or servicing requirements every 30 days
- Bypassing, circumventing, or otherwise tampering with the IID
Violating the IID law can result in having your license suspension reinstated.
Ready to Help You Get Back on the Road
Whether you are interested in having an IID device installed or accused of violating Alabama’s IID laws, let Tidwell Law Group, LLC protect your rights and freedom. Schedule a free case evaluation today to learn about your legal options.
Contact us today for more information about Alabama’s IID laws.